Ecosystem Services: This is the ‘Future’ – Now

There are a lot of ways I feel muddled between going mathematical and accounting actual value when organizing and planning.  More often than not a person becomes a number, a feeling has a rank, and I disassociate emotions from decisions because I find it too draining otherwise.

In this case, the article I will discuss in a moment, and more often than before I am finding a bridge between the two thanks to some, as I perceive them, intelligent individuals who understand how to make connections far beyond my capabilities.

The article The Value of an Ecosystem by JSDunham gives a remarkably easy to follow discussion on understanding of the actual value of an ecosystem when viewed mathematically in economics.  The reader, one such as myself, can go from some random value x to a more specific value that is measurable in each instance.  Keep in mind this is not a highly mathematical article, but conceptually leads to the appreciation of Ecosystem Services as a method to including more, and valuable, factors into the equation when making decisions related to financial endeavors.

Leave a Reply

